Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Future Forum Members Request Funding for Committee Interns in a Letter to Appropriations Subcommittee Leaders

August 5, 2021
Press Release
Committees have minimal funding for intern pay, reducing opportunities for young Americans interested in public service

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Members of the Future Forum Caucus, led by Chairman Darren Soto (FL-09), Vice Chair Colin Allred (TX-32), Vice Chair Haley Stevens (MI-11), Vice Chair Sara Jacobs (CA-53) and Chair Emeritus Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), sent a letter to leaders of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch requesting funding for interns of committees in the House of Representatives.

“Creating the appropriated funds of $1,470,000 would grant an allowance of $70,000 per committee,” wrote the members. “This proposed fund will not count towards the staff cap in committees.”

“Paid internships are a bipartisan issue. In 2018, during a moment of deep polarization, Democrats and Republicans agreed paying congressional interns was important. In a historic move, Congress appropriated $14 million to compensate its interns. The creation of the Congressional Internship Fund in 2018 has supported over 6,000 student interns living and working in Washington, D.C., as they gain valuable work experience. These experiences open doors to future employment in public policy and public service.”

Committee interns are often underpaid, as committees have minimal access to funds. While personal offices have access to the Congressional Internship Fund, committees do not. Additional funding would make a great impact in the lives of these interns, giving them the same opportunities as interns in personal offices. Future Forum leaders recognize how important interns are to committees and are committed to advocating for the young Americans who would benefit from access to a paid internship program.

The letter was signed by 13 Future Forum members, including Chairman Darren Soto (FL-09), Vice Chair Colin Allred (TX-32), Vice Chair Haley Stevens (MI-11), Vice Chair Sara Jacobs (CA-53), Chair Emeritus Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Sharice L. Davids (KS-03), Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Katie Porter (CA-45), and Eric Swalwell (CA-15).

Click here to view the full text of the letter.