Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Future Forum Members Write Letter in Recognition of the 50th Anniversary of the Ratification of the 26th Amendment

August 5, 2021
Press Release
The letter also details a collaboration with YouthInGov, a coalition to increase youth opportunities in the federal government

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Members of the Future Forum Caucus, led by Chairman Darren Soto (FL-09), Vice Chair Colin Allred (TX-32), Vice Chair Sara Jacobs (CA-53), and Chair Emeritus Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), sent a letter to House leaders in recognition of the 50th anniversary of the ratification of the 26th Amendment.

“Today is an important moment in our country’s history: young Americans – across ideological, geographic, and demographic lines – are more politically active and engaged than ever before,” wrote the members.

Future Forum also announced a collaboration with YouthInGov, which is “a coalition consisting of 100+ youth-led and serving organizations, to increase youth opportunities in the Federal Government. Specifically, the YouthInGov proposals include creating an Office of Young Americans within the Executive Office, appointing a Director of Youth Engagement, and empowering youth in official administration positions. These actions would ensure that decisions made by the Federal Government take young Americans into account.”

The Future Forum Caucus believes in every young American’s right to engage in our democracy and will continue to advocate for young Americans and their involvement in decision-making at every level of government.

The letter was signed by nine members, including Chairman Darren Soto (FL-09), Vice Chair Colin Allred (TX-32), Vice Chair Sara Jacobs (CA-53), Chair Emeritus Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Rep. Grace Meng (NY-06), Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-06), Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-01), Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15), and Rep. Ritchie Torres (NY-15).

Click here to view the full text of the letter.